The Governor's Bullying Prevention Summit

Conference Agenda

Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit

Hy-Vee Hall, Hall B

730 Third Street

Des Moines, IA 50309


All presentations will take place in Hall B

7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. 


9:00 a.m. to 9:05 a.m.

Welcome – The Honorable Kim Reynolds, Lieutenant Governor of Iowa

  • Recognizing Aditi Dinakar, Regional President of Iowa Youth Congress
9:05 a.m. to 9:15 a.m.

Opening Remarks — The Honorable Terry E. Branstad, Governor of Iowa

9:15 a.m. to 10:15 a.m.

“Adults Can Make a Difference,” followed by questions from the audience

Elizabeth Englander, Director of the Massachusetts Aggression Reduction Center, “Do We Really Know Bullying When We See It? Why Adults Can Make a Difference Regardless"

Malcolm L. Astley, Educator, Developmental Psychologist and Father of the Late Lauren Dunne Astley, Wayland, Massachusetts, “Liberation from Violence – Looking Under the Anger”

10:15 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.


10:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

“Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy,” followed by questions from the audience

Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate, New York Times Magazine contributing writer and the Truman Capote Fellow for Creative Writing and Law at Yale Law School

11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Box lunch available outside Hall B

12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.

“Standing Up, Not Standing By,” Selection of Video Contest Entries

Sarah Brown Wessling, High School English Teacher in Johnston, Iowa, 2010 National Teacher of the Year and Teacher Laureate for Teaching Channel 

12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.

“How to Best Equip Schools to Address Bullying”

Deborah Temkin, Bullying Prevention Manager at the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights, followed by a panel discussion and questions from the audience


  • Matt Carver, Legal Services Director for School Administrators of Iowa 
  • The Honorable Chris Hall, Democratic State Representative from Sioux City, Iowa
  • Frank LoMonte, Executive Director of the Student Press Law Center
  • Kristine Meyer, Vice President of Higher Education for the Iowa School Counselors Association
  • The Honorable Quentin Stanerson, Republican State Representative from Center Point, Iowa
  • Kayla Weishuhn, Student at South O’Brien Secondary School in Paullina, Iowa 


Linda Fandel, Special Assistant for Education in the Branstad-Reynolds Administration

1:30 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.


1:45 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.

“Students Can Make a Difference,” followed by a panel discussion and questions from the audience

Christina Wagner, Student at Edina High School in Edina, Minnesota, and bullying prevention advocate, “Silence: A Victim’s Loudest Cry”

Hayley Reardon, Student at Marblehead High School in Marblehead, Massachusetts, and a musician with a message of collective responsibility, "Find Your Voice”

  • Anthony Howland, Student at Central High School in Davenport, Iowa
  • Cole Norton, Student at Lisbon High School in Lisbon, Iowa
  • Danielle Reyes, Student at Valley High School in West Des Moines, Iowa


Shannon McClintock Miller, District Teacher Librarian in the Van Meter Community School District in Van Meter, Iowa

2:45 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Final Remarks and Announcement of Video Contest Winners

Brad Buck, Iowa Department of Education Director